Making Text

In this task I was working on Illustrator CC, I used small squares to create my own alphabet font. My first step was to create 26 20×20 cm templates and create a grid which was 10x10mm. Furthermore I would go to View and click the option Snap To Grid, this would then ensure that the boxes that I create would remain on the grid lines and not be free to move around.

Before I began creating my own font, I went back to the tab View and then clicked on the option Hide Corner Widget. This option would get rid of the corner widgets so then I wouldn’t accidently clicked it and altered the shape of the square instead of moving the quadrilateral. Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 09.47.56 Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 09.48.23Once all these options were sorted, I began to make my font. I decided to go for a professional looking font so then it would be easy to read, yet having a unique style. When I was doing my alphabet I did the letters in chronological order- making it easy to keep track on what letter I was on and making it quick to access the previous letter I worked on. The method I used when creating my typography pieces was by copying the first square I made a repeatedly pasting in on the template I was working on, by doing it this way it saved me making new squares every time as well as being easily accessible. However if I had too many pasted squares, I would just simply delete them.Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 10.00.54Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 10.02.21

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 10.24.14Overall, I did enjoy this task and I seemed to get the hang of making a unique font which I might be able to use for a poster or some sort of media in the future. I hadn’t done this technique before but I would be comfortable with doing this idea again, I feel as if I could do a better with more time and if I knew more techniques and styles in Illustrator CC. The font that I created was a font that I had seen before but I made the text more block like and made sure that there were minimum curves though it was challenging because letters like ‘C’, ‘O’ and ‘Q’. With the style of text I made I managed to create a word, ‘Parallel’ (In the image below I also have the basic shapes that I used to create the letters).

Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 10.45.45 - Copy

Leave a Reply

