Quick Mask Mode (Photoshop Practice)

edward-scissorhands

The ‘Quick Mask Tool’ is a tool used to capture a large area of a photo without having to do it yourself, this tool also allows you to add/ take away certain details that the ‘Quick Mask Tool’ missed. We were told to take this image of Edward Scissorhands, played by Johnny Depp and adjust his hair- it could be any shape, size and colour, but we were only allowed to change his hair.

This task was very quick though the execution was very long. We had done a similar task to this, but with this assignment we had to go into much finer detail. When the ‘Quick Mask Tool’ was selected and there were marching ants going around Edward Scissorhands’ hair, I went over the small hairs that the tool hadn’t picked up. I decided in using the brush tool to fine the hairs Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 16.12.20because it is much easier to control the strength and size of the brush, as well as that, it was much clearer to see what was already selected because of the red filter on the photo.

After selecting most of the hairs, which was a time consuming process, I had to deform Scissorhands’ hair. Before I did anything drastic, I had to copy and paste the selected hair onto a new layer, then I wouldn’t ruin the original picture and I could compare the two images. I wanted to make his hair colourful so then it would seem like an extraordinary change of character- I did this by selecting a large brush tool (after switching back to the marching ants) and choosing the different colours from the colour spectrum. I would then paint in the different colours on his hair until I got to the rainbow effect that I enjoyed.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 16.49.36

Leave a Reply

