Patterns (Task 2.3)

Patterns are constantly around us, especially in games, when it comes to polygons and codes to make the games the high quality that they are today. In this task I was asked to develop a range of different patterns using different tools and shapes. I did not use Photoshop for this task, instead I used Illustrator because it is much easier to form/ create patterns and shapes.

Just like when I was using shapes to create my own individual font, I added a grid and made sure that the shapeScreen Shot 2015-10-09 at 10.06.17s that I created would snap to that grid- this then making it easier to work with the different shapes I was going to use. For my first pattern I wanted to create something colourful so then I could see the flow of the different colours in the pattern. As the task sheet said to do, I did work with basic shapes first, so I decided to use right angle triangles because it is very eaScreen Shot 2015-10-09 at 10.06.34sy to make a pattern with them. I put the triangles in a straight line and made them vary in colour, after this, I would then copy and paste the line and flip it around, making the colours go in the opposite direction. I repeated this process until I ended up with a shape that was easy to handle. Once I did this, I clicked the tab Window> Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 10.06.48Pattern Options and a small box would show up, where I would have to click New Pattern. This would then duplicate the pattern I originally created and I could alter it to my liking, I made the pattern sit like a grid so then all the coloured lines align with one another. When I was pleased with my pattern I would like ‘Done’ and my pattern would then save to the ‘Swatches’ tab and I cScreen Shot 2015-10-09 at 10.08.37ould colour fill shapes using my pattern, which I did. Circles seemed appropriate due to already using triangles. Additionally I removed the outlines from all the triangles to give my pattern more of a ‘modern’ look.

After I had gotten used to this process I Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 10.10.35repeated it, creating other different/ unique patterns and experimenting how they look with different shapes. I honestly admit to finding the ‘honeycomb’ pattern difficult because I didn’t use the grid, and I had to change the width and height separating each pattern individually in the ‘Pattern Options’. I did enjoy this task because even though I was limited to the shapes I was using, I feel as if I created unique patterns, out of all the patterns I prefer the first one I made because I believe it fills/ defines the shape below the pattern more than the others.Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 10.40.02

 

Leave a Reply

