Type Tool + Clipping Mask (1.4)

I experimented with the ‘Type Tool’ in this task and vary the proportions of different letters/ fonts. I first created a 10x10cm box and entered a random letter into the box, I could either do lower or upper case but I decided to start with upper case because it covers more space and I could do more with the letter before it began to be unreadable. Once I had one letter done, I had to do 5 more. I had different fonts to choose from when it came to altering these letterforms; Futura, Avenir, Helvetica, Cooper Black, Rockwell and Baskerville.B&W Type Tool Letters

I complete this stage, IScreen Shot 2015-10-08 at 09.28.35 then got to experiment with different colours, though I was still restricted to the fonts I was using. Changing the text and background was very familiar to the first step though there were just a couple of extra steps to go with it. By changing the colour of the background, I would first set up the letter as I would in the first stage, then I would Colour Type Tool Lettersgo to Layer> New Fill Layer> Solid Colour, this would give me a background which I was able to distort much easier than I would with an ordinary background. I then repeated this process five more times just like the first stage, but I had different coloured backgrounds and font colours this time. For some of the letters I tried to make them bleed out of the template so then it would give a more interesting look when I finished it.

he last stage of this task was to use a couple of the ideas I learnt from the previous stages to make a portrait of a famous graphics designer and put a well-known quote over their picture, using the ‘Clipping Tool’. I was given the quote “There are three responses to a piece of design- yes, no and WOW! Wow is the Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 11.01.02one to aim for”, this was said by Milton Glaser who is a graphics designer, recognised mainly for his “I ❤ NY” designer and his three coloured poster of Barack Obama. My first challenge of this was to rearrange the quote to fit an A4 template, yet still have enough room to add the artists name and job in the poster. I needed to write the text in black. I used the skills of distorting and re-sizing text that I learnt in the previous stage, on this stage. I Without Clipping Tooldecided on using the font ‘Avenir’, because it looks more professional than the other texts given. The words within the quote each had their individual layers, however once I was finished with the quote, I did have to group them. To get the picture onto the background I simply dragged my saved image onto a new layer, and it would appear. After these stages, I had to use the ‘Clipping Tool’ to get my chosen image Mitlon Glaserof Milton Glaser to appear in the text, as well putting the image above the grouped lettering.

In conclude I did find this task difficult at first but when I began to get used to the process of distorting text and using the same command tools, I found it relatively easy. Due to me finishing this task so quickly, I managed to make two other images; one with Neville Brody saying “Digital design is like painting, except the paint never dries” and John Lasseter (Chief Creative Office at Pixar) saying “Computers don’t create computer animation any more than a pencil creates pencil animation. What creates computer animation is the artist”. These other images were extension work for myself so I did use a couple of other effects on the whole picture, for example I just changed the opacity with Neville Brody’s image so then you can see the whole image instead of part of it.John LasseterNeville Brody

Leave a Reply

