Making Text with Shapes

Fonts can be made of several different shapes and sizes, each font is unique. In this task I had to make my own font, similar to a task I did before, but this time I had to use shapes such as circles, rectangles and triangles, instead of just little squares. Just like the font-creating task before, I was using Illustrator CC.

I started of using the letter ‘A’ because it’s the first letter of the alphabet and it is one of the most commonly used letters in the English language. The way I created this unique ‘A’ was by first by constructing and equilateral quadrilateral and an equal circle, then placing them on top of each other. To get these two shapes to form as one I had to find the Pathfinder tool and click Group, so then the two shapes would move as one. After that, I made a triangle using the Polygon Tool, click where I wanted the shape to be, and then type on ‘3’, giving me the three-sided shape that I wanted. I then highlighted the triangle and square-circle shape, went back to the Pathfinder tool and selected Subtract, this then subtracted the triangle from the square-circle shape and made the unique ‘A’ that I wanted to go for.Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 10.19.13

The kind of font that I wanted to produce would hopefully give the look of triangles being subtracted from each letter. After creating the letter ‘A’, I decided on making the letters ‘P,L and E’, letters used to make the word ‘Apple’. All I had to do was copy and paste the letter ‘P’. The main shapes that I used for this task were circles, rectangles and triangles. Out of all the letters that I was able to create, I have to say that creating the letter ‘E’ was the most challenging because I struggled finding a way to use circles, rectangles and triangles to make that letter, and have it look like the other letters at the same time.Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 10.45.45

I believe that if I had more time to work on this task, I would be able to make a well-known phrase, or even complete the whole alphabet, like I was able to do for my last font-creating task. However if I was presented with a task like this in the future, I would be comfortable with using these skills again.

Leave a Reply

