Architect Exposition Task 4

After all the pages of sketches and rough notes for my final designs, I used the programme CC Photoshop to create them. Compared to each A3 design, I did make some adjustments when it came to positioning, colour scheme and wording. I decided out of all three architecture posters, I decided that my final poster would be ‘The Gherkin’ because of the absurdity/modernism of the poster and the fact that it is one of the most Iconic structures in London.

The first poster I created was the one for Big Ben, from my sketch work I wanted the colour scheme to be red, white and blue to represent the Union Jack however after looking at the final design, I decided to change the colours to various shades of blue to create a monochrome effect, as well as the poster looking overall more modern with the new design. I still went with the original design where I use use basic shapes such as triangles, quadrilaterals and lines to make the poster seem minimalistic. Looking at the criteria I also saw that there was no mention on a custom slogan, and there has to include the logo of The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS), somewhere on the poster, as well as the title ‘Festival of Architecture’. In my original sketch I had a slogan at the top “Time To Travel”, linking to the clock on Big Ben- I replaced that with the title because viewers tend to look at the top of the poster first and then make their way down .In my final Big Ben poster I made the font much thicker and found a transparent logo to place underneath the title, as well as writing the year of the festival. The reason as to why I made the text thicker is because I found the thinner text difficult to read and I wanted to be clear for readers.

Before&After BBBig Ben Architecture Poster

The second poster that I worked on using CC Photoshop was the ‘ArcelorMittal Orbit’, this poster was more difficult to recreate in basic shapes because of the unique shape of the structure, instead of using basic shapes, I had to paint the curves, however I still used block colours to show the minimalistic look. To do this I collected an image of the structure, and drew around it on a new layer so then I would be distorting the image. Similar to the previous poster design, I decided to avoid the colour scheme that I initially thought of and decided to go for monochrome colour, this time red instead of blue- red is the actual colour of the ArcelorMittal Orbit. I decided against editing the logo to make it seem transparent because I preferred it being a block image and due to the amount of white I used in the poster, it seemed to blend nicely, furthermore if i moved the logo anywhere else, the title would no longer match the font size at the bottom. I feel that this poster seems very basic, even though it was difficult to draw, I don’t think it would catch the eye of an ordinary person, maybe just art enthusiasts.

 

Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 10.56.39.png

Olympic Orbit Architecture Poster.jpg

The last poster that I created on CC Photoshop was ‘The Gherkin’, this poster wasn’t as challenging as the ArcelorMittal Orbit, however I did have to paint the entire shape due to it not being an ordinarily shaped building. Even though this poster was completed faster than the ArcelorMittal Orbit, I did struggle with what would be my final design. My initial plans were to have the poster similar to the other two in the sense that the title would be at the top of the poster and the building would be made of the colour, red white and blue, however out of all the original designs I changed this one the most. Similar to the ArcelorMittal Orbit, I wanted to go with colours that were similar to the actual building, so during the process of drawing the structure, I constantly had an image by its side for comparison. I added three brown/ beige blocks to represent the background of the image, even though one of the blocks is in front of the image. The reason as to why I chose brown is because orange and blue are complementary colours and brown is a dark shade of orange. Just like the previous poster I decided against using the entire RIAS logo because I didn’t want it to be too distracting for the viewers. One of the main changes that I did was placing the text ‘Festival of Architecture’ around the building, instead of on top- the reasoning behind this was that it shows absurdity and would hopefully capture the eye of the public much faster than the posters above. A problem that continued to occur was when I was transforming the size of the text, some of the letters would be distorted, as you can see in the word ‘Festival’.

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 09.22.03Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 09.51.34Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 09.56.47Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 10.07.46

Ghurkin Architecture Poster

Leave a Reply

