Shading (Maya)

Previously I have had trouble aligning colour to objects in the 3D modelling programme Maya, this task helped me to understand how to shade an object using both a solid colour and a stock image. The object I attempted to shade in this task was an ordinary 4×4 polygon cube.

BLOCK COLOUR

My first step, after making the polygon cube was to open the hypershade tab this was done by going WindowsRendering EditorsHypershade. This was a tool I had opened up before in my ‘Animating (Maya)’ blog, however I didn’t exactly know what I was doing, I managed to colour two shade two shapes pink and the other a shiny blue colour. The lower middle box on the Hypershade tab is called the Node tab, this is where the blueprints of the various colour schemes go. To get my square to change colour I clicked on my cube in the viewpoint and a box appeared which I renamed to ‘Box Colour’ (this made it easier to organise), following that clicked the Property Editor located on the far right, under Common Material Properties and changed the colour from grey to red. The polygon did not change straight away, to do so I held down the middle mouse button on the ‘Box Colour’ material, on the right, and dragged it on the polygon, changing the colour. These are the different shortcuts that could be used when it came to viewing options in the Hypershade view point (when hovering the mouse over the viewpoint):

4-wire frame

5-shaded display

6-shaded display with textures

7-lighting

Render view is used to see the created object with no modelling tools around it. This makes is easier to see how the object will look in front of a blank background.

 

IMAGE FILL

This section was much more harder to complete as it did include the use of an additional software, thankfully one I was very familiar with, Adobe Photoshop 2015. First of all I clicked the black and white box located next to the colour option, under the Common Material Properties tab, this opened a bar full of different texture options that I could chose, from Checker to Fluid Texture 3D. I first selected Checker so then I could see how the texture would react to the cube shape as well as the Shader Ball, located on the right.

After previewing the checker design on my cube, I then viewed it on a 2D surface, where I could see the template of my box as well as how the design was placed on the cube. To do this I selected UVUV Editor, bringing up another new tab. To see the cube template clearer on the UV Editor, I went back to the main hud, held right click on my cube and went down to the option Assign Existing Materiallambert1, bringing it back to the grey colour. After this the thin cube template was more visible making it much easier for my next step. To transfer the cube template to Photoshop, I selected UVUV Editor> PolygonsUV Snapshot bringing up a box with export options, once I had selected the save location chosen I opened the image file using Photoshop. The shortcut to invert a certain layer(s) on Photoshop is cmd(ctrl) + i. Following that I dragged on the design that I wanted. Originally the design did not fit into the template so I did have to move the two squares on the side down the bottom, this was easily done using the Quick Selection Tool. If there is opart of the design outside of the template outline then it will not show up on the 3D model.

After saving my Rubiks design as a jpeg. file I then reopened the Maya tab, right-clicked on the Node box and searched for the file option. Following that, I linked the File box to the BoxColour box I had previously created, went across to the File Attributes tab on the right, under the Shader Ball and selected the file icon which I then selected my Rubiks design and imported onto my cube. From looking at the Material tab on the left, the BoxColour sample has changed as well, showing the the texture has altered the design of the sample.

As a first attempt at image filling polygons I believe that I managed to pull it off quite well and with a bit more practice and research depth I believe that I could get into more detail. This task was challanging at first but once I got the hang of what the different buttons/ options did I began to have an understanding of how to use them, I would be comfortable with doing this process again.

(attempt more boxes at home)

Leave a Reply

