Film Noir Trailer Task 4

While going out to record our trailer, I had assistance from Oscar Holmes (@oscaryh_ on Twitter) to record behind the scenes of out trailer. When recording films it is interesting to see behind the scenes of films to see what it is like for actors to perform without the CGI/ non diegetic sounds as well as discussing ideas with the director, however we usually see more in depth knowledge when actors are interviewed after the movie premieres. Behind the scenes footage is a way of showing all the work that is done behind a camera to make a film or media product.

Throughout this montage of each recording session and the preparation we had to go through before getting the shot. This was done using a Sony DSC_WV500 as it was small and portable enough to carry around. I divided each day up and used a fade transition to indicate the days passing. The one scene that took the longest to create was the dead body scene in Eltham because the sliced throat took an hour to create and we had to create an area that looked like a crime scene. As well as making a behind the scenes we also had enough footage to create a bloopers to look back on when the main actors (Nichola Humphreys, Matthew Roberts, Thomas Duncan, Zachary Creer) forgot lines or did something incorrect.

Acting Day 2- Eltham

This filming day was straight after Camden so we had all the camera equipment ready to go. Eltham is where I was going to play two roles, one being the anti’hero with short white hair and the other being the sister that is murderer, this meant having FX makeup put on me by Lauren Brooks (scar wax, paint, vampire blood and syrup blood). When we got to the forste scene then I had my ankles tied up with a rope and flung over a tree branch to give the impression that I had been hanging from my ankles, this was done by Matthew Roberts and Connor Brooks.

As Thomas Duncan was a main part of these shots I had to take camera control, unfortunately we had to switch cameras half way through recording as the DSLR had a very temperamental battery, meaning we had to shoot with the Sony Cyber-shot (when there were scenes with both me and Thomas Duncan, Matthew Roberts took over. The filming location also changed from the forest to Eltham Scouts Club. The scene that caused more difficultly was when Thomas Duncan “stabbed” Zachary Creer in the hand as we all had to stand still so then FX makeup could be applied to his hand.

Acting Day 3- Wimbledon

As Lauren Brooks was unavailable to do FX makeup I brought a couple of tubes of fake blood with me as we would be recording two more dead body scenes and a few shots that would require blood such as Zachary Creer getting punched in the face and the after math of the quick time action shot we filmed in Eltham. The first dead body was Oscar Holmes whose face we covered up so it doesn’t appear that we killed him twice through our trailer. The second body shot was Matthew Roberts, we covered his face up with a plastic bag but ensured there were air holes to prevent suffocation, as Thomas Duncan was unavailable that day, myself and Matthew Roberts shared the filming role.

When we were done designing/ shooting the body scenes, we then moved onto action shots with in Merton Park this including Zachary Creer and myself doing a running shot away from the camera and myself “punching” Zachary Creer in the nose. The one part in these scenes that I could’ve done better would be if I didn’t continue to run when I pretended to punch Mr. Creer.

Acting Day 3- Kingston

These were the last shots that we needed to film for our trailer so we decided to film them in Kingston where we initially hired the equipment. The first shot we did was when my character insists on helping the police force even though she is a police officer, for this I had to push Zachary Creer against the wall and say “That f*cko killed my sister!”, when doing this I made sure not to push too hard so I could prevent hurting Zachary.

Lastly we shot the scene where Zachary Creer gives my charcter a license to murder people who she deems threatening and the shot where we are sitting on the ground contemplating the busy fight scene filmed in Eltham. Doing the last shot meant that we both had to have blood on our face (again) and look quite tired and beaten up. Matthew Roberts did both filming and putting the blood on us.

Overall I am pleased with my performance and I would be happy to act again if it was needed by I do belive that I could learn more skills such as applying FX makeup in a more detailed fashion (if an FX artist is unable to attend) and getting confident at stunts as I was a bit apprehensive about doing them, for example shooting Oscar Holmes in the back of the head for the fight scene and punching Zachary Creer in Wimbledon.

Leave a Reply

