Green Screen Practice

https://kcimgdnicholahumphreys.wordpress.com/2017/01/31/green-screen-research/

After researching the colour keying, I decided to practice this technique by getting my team to do various actions in front of a large green screen, with the addition of two coloured capes. The two programmes I used for colour keying were Adobe After Effects 2017 and Premiere Pro 2017, programmes I am very comfortable using. The video files that were taken have been put in the playlist below:

This first step was to drag the clips and background I wanted into After Effects 2017, the first clip I used was ‘Group Dancing’ which consisted of myself, Thomas Duncan and Zachary Creer. I decided to go for an Overwatch theme for the video clips as it has several different maps which various platforms to place people on. To remove the background I selected Effect> Keying> Keylight 1.2, this would bring up a menu on the far left which allowed me to remove specific colours. To do so I selected the eyedropper tool besides Screen Colour and I picked a shade of green that was well balanced between the shades on the green screen. After doing so I noticed that there were some shadows and high exposure still on the video so I went down to Screen Matte and altered the black and white to no shadows would appear (ensure not to make your clips too white as it may become transparent on your final product). Once I had a clear background I inserted my photo and exported the video, I repeated this process with several other clips.

With some clips the shadows were too intense to just use the Screen Colour tool, so I involved the Pen tool, located in the top right hand corner, which allowed me to crop down the clip to just the moving section. Once I connected the last two points After Effects automatically deleted the rest of the scene. The moving image is not constantly in one position so I had to move it the non-erased area with the clip, this could be done by clicking on clock next to Mask Path (moving the selected area) or selecting the clock next to Mask Expansion, giving me the ability to move each point rather than the entire area. I had to use this tool for the ‘Flailing Arms’, ‘Planking’ and ‘Spinning’ as they all had dark areas that could be removed with one tool. A shortcut to expand the composition options in After Effects is ‘m’.

To make some clips more interesting I applied other basic effects such as rotation, scale and position, for example I move the ‘Head Bopping’ clip to a high platform on the photo so it appeared that Matthew Roberts and Zachary Creer were peeping over the ledge. I even made duplicates of one person on the same clips, this was done by simply using the command Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V on the keyboard. On the ‘Handstand’ clip I did flip Zachary Creer by selecting LayerTransform> Scale to Flip and setting the Width to -100% rather than 100%.

Finally I got all my editing clips, compiled them onto Adobe Premiere Pro 2017 and added an Overwatch theme remix to match the backgrounds I had been using. Additionally I did slow done ‘Spinning’ and ‘Cape throwing’ as they were the shortest clips in the montage.

 

 

Using the Chroma-Key technique was much simpler to use than I expected, however I do believe that if the green screen room was properly lit I wouldn’t have to run into some problems like people being too bright and going transparent, or even shadows being cast when they weren’t supposed to. Overall I am proud with how these videos did come out and I would be comfortable using this technique again, especially for my VR trailer.

 

Leave a Reply

